Home > About GCA > Organization  




Policy guidance for the GCA is provided by its co-chairpersons, who also determine the GCA's work program on an annual basis. The GCA Co-Chairpersons are President Festus Mogae of Botswana, Prime Minister Meles Zenawi of Ethiopia, Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union, Alpha Oumar Konaré, Dr Frene Ginwala, former Speaker of the South African National Assembly, Minister Hilde Johnson of Norway, and President of JICA, Sadako Ogata. Former President Sir Ketumile Masire of Botswana, former Minister Jan Pronk of the Netherlands, and former World Bank President Robert McNamara are Co-Chairpersons Emeritus.

Under the overall guidance of its Co-Chairpersons, the GCA's activities are coordinated by a Washington-based Secretariat. Mr. Hage Geingob, former Prime Minister of Namibia, is the GCA Executive Secretary.

Co- Chairpersons Background Information

Festus G. Mogae, President of the Republic of Botswana
Meles Zenawi, Prime Minister of Ethiopia
Alpha Konaré, Chairman of the African Union and former President of Mali
Frene Ginwala, Speaker of National Assembly, South Africa
Hilde F. Johnson, Minister of International Development, Norway
Mrs. Sadako Ogata, President of JICA


2004 Policy Forum - Migration and Development in Africa
TICAD Asia-Africa Trade and Investment Conference (AATIC) - Tokyo, Japan - November 1 and 2, 2004
Annual Reports
  © Global Coalition for Africa (GCA) - All Rights Reserved.